Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

Heroes of Olympus is a superb series!!!!!!!!!! Its protagonists are Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Jason Grace, Leo Valdez, Piper Mclean, Frank Zhang, Hazel Levesque, Reyna Ramirez, Gleeson Hedge and Nico di Angelo. The series in order-

  1. The Lost Hero
  2. The Son of Neptune
  3. The Mark of Athena
  4. The Blood of Olympus
  5. The House of Hades

A prophecy has been spoken –

“Seven half-bloods shall answer the call, to storm or fire the world must fall, an oath to keep with a final breath, as foes bear arms to the Doors of Death.”

Seven half-bloods – that is seven demigods (that is, sons and daughters of gods and goddesses) have to work together and save the world from an evil ( but sadly, powerful) goddess all in a couple of months, sailing in their spankin’ hot war machine ( get the reference ?? ) or, in other terms their warship, the Argo II. They may achieve peace, but at what price??? Who will make the final sacrifice, and how high will the cost be???…….

Meanwhile a war is already going on, between the roman and Greek demigods, and bloodshed may be inevitable…….

They also have side adventures , like, oh, freeing death from his chains (long story) , rescuing a magical statue from a giant spider, falling into and trying to survive Tartarus ( which is like the Greek equivalent of monster hell) to name a few. Being demigods, this is what they are born for….

They have to survive, save the world, prevent a war that would cost hundreds of lives……

No pressure!

This series was amazing!!!! Though if you want to read this series, I recommend that you read the Percy Jackson series first, (otherwise you will be really confused). This is fantastic, and the author has a style of writing that keeps the reader interested throughout the series (the series is huge) and excited, and the books have so many unexpected twists and turns and side plots it’s impossible to predict what will happen next. You feel like you are actually in the character’s shoes, his/her feelings and situations are so well described.

I recommend this series for 10-11+ yrs. One great thing about this series is that both adults and children can read it. I give this book series 5/5 stars!!!

The Green Ember by S.D.Smith

Hi friends!

Today I will be talking about the book called “The Green Ember”.  I know it has been ages since I wrote the last blog. Sorry for the delay. This book is the first book in the Green Ember series, and it is really incredibly good. It is more of a war story than a fantasy which is my favourite genre. I hope you will try it reading like I did. It is excellent. Let me tell you all about it!

The story begins like this…

Heather and Picket are two extraordinary rabbits, but they are not aware about it. They are content with their life and family in a place called “Nick Hollow “and they could not be happier about it. Their father is from the east, and their mother is from Nick Hollow only. Heather and Picket have a baby brother too named Jack. Heather is the eldest and Picket the middle one is the fastest rabbit. They thought that their life was perfect. However this was not going to last for long. In a span of few days their life turned upside down. Their families are torn apart, and their lives can never be the same again.

The Wolves……wait wait… I need to give you brief history before I go on with the story!

Once upon a time, there lived a wise and good king called King Jupiter Goodson. It was a golden era under his rule. However, it soon ended sadly because of a traitor called Garten Longtreader who betrayed the King by colluding with the enemy. The king was murdered at a spot called Jupiter Crossing. There are two sides which have been warring since the dawn of history- Rabbits (the good fellas) and wolves/hawks (the bad ones). Morbin is the evil hawk king who wants to rule everyone and become emperor. They are at war since centuries.

Now, back to the story. The wolves who were actually looking for slaves(slavers) came for their family. Only Heather and Picket escape with great difficulty and timely help from other rabbits, one of whom is their Uncle Wilfred, an uncle they didn’t even know existed. WOAH!!

They have to reach to the safety of a mountain called cloud mountain, and fight with unity for their freedom. However, things are not as they seem, and they struggle to tell apart fact from fiction. Heather and Picket get tied up in strange plots of family secrets, traitors, liars, and true heirs.

Will they ever come out of Morbin’s evil shadow?

This story is awesome and really original.  It will certainly captivate you so much that you will read the whole series. I certainly will do. I understand that the rabbits and wolves sound really kiddish and lame, but it is actually a rather good read. Beside the fact that the characters are animals, the narration is pretty realistic and actually pretty much everything is realistic too. This fast-paced book takes you along the journey of Heather and Picket and will have you at the edge of your seat. Sadly, this is not famous enough but certainly deserves to be. S D Smith is a superb author. This book shows you that you have to be loyal, work hard and never lose hope. Hope is the definitive theme of this book. I recommend it for the ages 10 (and above). I hope that you enjoy reading my blog. I really enjoyed writing it and love this book a lot!